Contact & corrections

UNITED STATES · ENFORCEMENT

US online gambling fines by state, 2025 to 2026

State regulators fined online sportsbooks and casinos at least $2.44 million across 58 published actions in 2025 and 2026, on our count. Failures involving self-excluded players were the most common reason in New Jersey and Pennsylvania; in Massachusetts, most fines were for taking bets on unapproved markets.

JurisdictionUS states (NJ, MA, PA, MI, MD)
ScopePublished fines on online operators
Sources checked24 October 2026
Next review24 November 2026
At a glance
  • 58 published fines on online gambling operators from January 2025 to 24 October 2026 in five states, totalling $2,436,694 (our sum; excludes forfeited winnings and supplier fines).
  • New Jersey (23 actions, $1.05m) and Massachusetts (24, $745,500) account for most; Pennsylvania 5 ($490,905), Michigan 3 ($130,000), Maryland 3 ($18,000).
  • Largest: DraftKings $450,000 in Massachusetts for accepting credit-card-funded wagers; BetMGM $260,905 in Pennsylvania for 152 instances of a self-excluded person gambling.
  • By operator, BetMGM faced the most: 11 actions totalling $849,905.

US state regulators published at least 58 fines against online sportsbooks and online casinos between January 2025 and October 2026, totalling about $2.44 million, on our count of regulator orders and notices in New Jersey, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Michigan and Maryland. Most were for operational failures rather than advertising: letting self-excluded players gamble, taking bets on events or markets the regulator had not approved, and weak identity checks. Each state publishes enforcement differently, and some (Illinois, Ohio, Connecticut) were not covered in this edition.

$2.44m58 fines, Jan 2025 to 24 Oct 2026 (our sum)
$450,000largest: DraftKings, Massachusetts
23actions in New Jersey, the most active regulator by count
11actions against BetMGM ($849,905)

Totals by state

State and regulatorActionsTotalMost common issue
New Jersey, Division of Gaming Enforcement23$1,052,289Self-excluded players; prohibited events
Massachusetts, Gaming Commission24$745,500Wagers on unapproved markets
Pennsylvania, Gaming Control Board5$490,905Self-exclusion; identity and fraud checks
Michigan, Gaming Control Board3$130,000Internal controls; withdrawals
Maryland, Lottery and Gaming Control Commission3$18,000Audit findings (not specified)
Total58$2,436,694
Our calculation from the actions listed below. Two New Jersey rows and three Michigan rows link to trade reports or to copies of orders hosted outside the regulator's site (marked ‡). Maryland amounts are proposed in consent agreements pending Commission approval. Massachusetts' table had no entries after 22 June 2026 when checked. Checked 24 October 2026.

Every action

DateStateOperatorFineWhat the regulator citedSource
16 Apr 2025New JerseyGW NJ Sports, Inc. (BetParx)$5,000Accepted wagers on a St. Peter's University game (prohibited NJ college event), 13:69N-1.1 and 1.11Regulator
24 Jun 2025New JerseyTipico NJ LLC (Tipico)$25,000Promotional emails to self-excluded patrons; software malfunction; no data-feed controlsRegulator
18 Jul 2025New JerseyFanDuel$2,000Activated promotional spins without DGE approval, causing inaccurate revenue reportingRegulator
6 Aug 2025New JerseyStake Trade, Inc. (ProphetX, formerly Prophet Exchange)$11,000Accepted wagers from 5 self-excluded persons; wagers on a prohibited NCAA game held in NJRegulator
14 Aug 2025New JerseyPenn Interactive, LLC (formerly Barstool Sportsbook)$27,500Self-excluded individualsRegulator
3 Sep 2025New JerseyRush Street Interactive LLC$3,000N.J.A.C. 13:69N-1.9(q) (data-feed accuracy controls)Regulator
15 Sep 2025New JerseyPlayStar NJ LLC (PlayStar)$44,550Failed to detect and report self-excluded persons; KYC data not checked against the prohibited-persons databaseRegulator
24 Sep 2025New JerseySBOpco, LLC (formerly Superbook)$20,000"Various sports wagering violations"; request to void 5 wagers deniedRegulator
14 Oct 2025New JerseyDigital Gaming Corporation (Super Group)$112,188.96Self-excluded individuals; responsible gaming deposit limitsRegulator
25 Nov 2025New JerseyCrown NJ Gaming Inc. (DraftKings)$32,500Wagers accepted on prohibited events, on a market with an incorrect participant, and past-postedRegulator
9 Dec 2025New JerseySporttrade New Jersey LLC$15,000Offered prohibited events in errorRegulator
29 Jan 2026New JerseySeminole Hard Rock Digital LLC (Hard Rock Digital)$20,900Did not suspend self-excluded accounts or refuse their wagers; incorrect-odds markets; unilaterally voided wagersRegulator
18 Mar 2026New JerseyCrown NJ Gaming Inc. (DraftKings)$7,500Wagers initially settled inaccurately and later resettledRegulator
31 Mar 2026New JerseyBetfair Interactive US, LLC (FanDuel)$25,000Computer coding errorRegulator
23 Jun 2026New JerseyBetMGM, LLC$106,000Responsible gaming (N.J.S.A. 5:12-95.25(b); N.J.A.C. 13:69O-1.4(n); 13:69G-2.3, 2.4)Regulator
June 2026 (posted; order undated)New JerseyBetMGM, LLC$200,000Sports Wagering Act; 13:69D-2.3(c); 13:69N-1.9(j),(n); complaint filed on or about 2024-01-31, plus later similar violationsRegulator
29 Jun 2026New JerseySporttrade New Jersey LLC$12,500N.J.A.C. 13:69N-1.11(a)Regulator
29 Jun 2026New JerseyBally's Interactive LLC$7,050Self-excluded patrons allowed to wager (Aug 2023), 13:69G-2.4(a)Regulator
5 Aug 2026New JerseyCaesars Sportsbook$251,25013:69C-14.2(b),(c); 13:69G-2.2, 2.3, 2.4. Trade press: advertising without RG language, daily self-exclusion list not sent, permanent self-exclusion offered online, self-excluded patrons wagering.Regulator
18 Sep 2026New JerseyBetMGM, LLC$72,000Wagers on prohibited or unapproved events, 1.11(a)DGE order (copy) ‡
9 Oct 2026New JerseyCrown NJ Gaming Inc. (DraftKings)$14,350Responsible gamingDGE order (copy) ‡
17 Sep 2026New JerseyHillside (New Jersey) LLC (bet365)$33,000Self-exclusion (N.J.A.C. 13:69G-2.3, 2.4)DGE summary
Sep 2026New JerseyFanDuel$5,000Did not follow a Division directive during a suspicious-betting investigation (N.J.S.A. 5:12-80(d))DGE summary
29 Jan 2025PennsylvaniaBetMGM, LLC (Interactive Gaming Operator)$260,905152 instances of letting an individual on the Interactive Self-Exclusion List gambleRegulator
23 Jul 2025PennsylvaniaBetfair Interactive US LLC (FanDuel)$40,000Did not license several employeesRegulator
25 Mar 2026PennsylvaniaBetMGM, LLC$100,000KYC/fraud: weak checks let people open accounts with other individuals' identities and fund them with stolen payment methods (BetMGM and Borgata platforms)Regulator
20 May 2026PennsylvaniaGreenwood Gaming and Entertainment (betParx)$40,000Five unlicensed employees had access to iGaming customers' personal dataRegulator
20 May 2026PennsylvaniaWind Creek Bethlehem, LLC$50,000KYC failures led to more than US$92,000 of fraudulent withdrawals from iGaming accountsRegulator
9 Jan 2025MassachusettsPenn Sports Interactive$10,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
22 May 2025MassachusettsBetMGM, LLC$10,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
22 May 2025MassachusettsBetfair Interactive US, LLC (FanDuel)$20,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
22 May 2025MassachusettsFBG Enterprises Opco, LLC (Fanatics)$10,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
22 May 2025MassachusettsPenn Sports Interactive$10,000AdvertisingRegulator
1 Jul 2025MassachusettsAmerican Wagering, Inc. (Caesars Sportsbook)$10,000"KBA requirement" (MGC's label)Regulator
21 Jul 2025MassachusettsBetfair Interactive US, LLC (FanDuel)$15,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
25 Jul 2025MassachusettsCrown MA Gaming, LLC (DraftKings)$450,000Patron account: accepted credit-card-funded wagers. Trade press: 1,160 wagers from 242 credit-card deposits by 218 customers, from the March 2023 launch to February 2024.Regulator
8 Oct 2025MassachusettsPenn Sports Interactive$15,000AdvertisingRegulator
4 Dec 2025MassachusettsFBG Enterprises Opco, LLC (Fanatics)$20,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
11 Dec 2025MassachusettsAmerican Wagering Inc. (Caesars)$7,500Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
12 Dec 2025MassachusettsBetMGM, LLC$60,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
8 Mar 2026MassachusettsBally's Interactive, LLC (BallyBet)$7,500Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsAmerican Wagering Inc. (Caesars)$10,000Event catalogue (Euro red-card markets, per SBC trade report)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsBetMGM, LLC$6,500Event catalogue (college player prop)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsBetMGM, LLC$15,000Event catalogue (UFC/Petr Yan markets)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsBetfair Interactive US, LLC (FanDuel)$5,000Event catalogue (college player prop)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsCrown MA Gaming, LLC (DraftKings)$6,500Event catalogue (college player prop)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsCrown MA Gaming, LLC (DraftKings)$10,000Event catalogue (NCAA player props)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsFBG Enterprises Opco, LLC (Fanatics)$7,500Event catalogue (Heisman market)Regulator
12 Mar 2026MassachusettsFBG Enterprises Opco, LLC (Fanatics)$20,000Event catalogue (UFC/Petr Yan)Regulator
23 Mar 2026MassachusettsBetfair Interactive (FanDuel)$5,000Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
18 Jun 2026MassachusettsBetMGM, LLC$7,500Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
18 Jun 2026MassachusettsCrown MA Gaming, LLC (DraftKings)$7,500Wagers on unapproved or prohibited markets (event catalogue)Regulator
10 Jun 2025MichiganCrown MI Gaming, LLC (DraftKings)$25,000Withdrawal of US$19,028.96 held Sep 2023 to Jan 2024 without updates to the patron or grounds for refusalReport ‡
9 Sep 2025MichiganAmerican Wagering, Inc. d/b/a William Hill (Caesars Sportsbook)$100,000Internal controls: an unsecured deposit system let one patron record US$2,156,625 of unfunded "deposits", wager more than US$88M and withdraw US$591,469.65MGCB order (copy) ‡
Aug 2025MichiganDraftKings$5,00015 patrons allowed to exceed their self-set wagering limits (Dec 2023 to Jan 2024); self-reportedReport ‡
28 Jul 2025MarylandBetMGM, LLC$12,000Sports Wagering Law violations found in the April 2025 monthly audit (not specified; no admission)Regulator
18 Aug 2025MarylandPPE Casino Resorts Maryland, LLC (Maryland Live casino) and Betfair Interactive US LLC (FanDuel Sportsbook)$4,000May 2025 audit findings (not specified; no admission)Regulator
15 Dec 2025MarylandCrown MD Online Gaming LLC (DraftKings)$2,000Self-reported violation (regulation not named)Regulator
New Jersey dates are those on the Division's action or notice; Pennsylvania dates are board meeting dates; Massachusetts dates from the Commission's enforcement table; Maryland dates are those of the notice of alleged violation. ‡ trade report or a copy hosted outside the regulator's site. Forfeited winnings ordered in New Jersey (for example $51,789 in the June 2026 BetMGM matter) are excluded from fines. Checked 24 October 2026.

What the fines were for

Self-exclusion is the clearest pattern. In New Jersey, PlayStar, Penn Interactive, Digital Gaming Corporation, Hard Rock Digital, Bally's, Caesars Sportsbook, DraftKings and bet365 were all fined for self-excluded players being able to gamble or receive marketing. Pennsylvania's largest online fine, $260,905 against BetMGM in January 2025, covered 152 instances of one self-excluded person gambling. In Massachusetts, most actions were for taking bets on markets outside the approved event catalogue, often college player props, which Massachusetts restricts.

Identity and payment controls are the second pattern. DraftKings' $450,000 Massachusetts fine in July 2025 concerned accepting wagers funded by credit cards. Pennsylvania fined BetMGM $100,000 in March 2026 for weak checks that let people open accounts with other people's identities, and Wind Creek $50,000 after fraudulent withdrawals. Michigan's $100,000 order against Caesars Sportsbook in September 2025 followed a control failure that let one patron record more than $2.1 million of unfunded deposits.

Advertising cases are rare in this set. Penn Sports Interactive was fined $10,000 and later $15,000 in Massachusetts for advertising issues, and New Jersey's August 2026 order against Caesars Sportsbook included advertising without responsible gaming language, according to trade reports. Our cross-market analysis compares these patterns with Great Britain and Ontario.

Where states publish enforcement

New Jersey posts Director's actions as PDFs in twice-monthly folders with a summary for each period. Massachusetts keeps a single table of noncompliance actions. Pennsylvania announces consent agreements after board meetings and publishes a monthly fines list. Michigan, Ohio and Maryland publish orders or settlement agreements without a single index. Our US source directory links to each.

Questions about US online gambling fines

What is the largest fine on a US online sportsbook in 2025 or 2026?

In the actions we tracked, $450,000 against DraftKings (Crown MA Gaming) by the Massachusetts Gaming Commission in July 2025, for accepting credit-card-funded wagers.

Why are sportsbooks fined for self-exclusion?

State rules require operators to block people on self-exclusion lists from gambling and from marketing. Regulators fine operators when excluded people are able to open accounts, place bets or receive promotions.

Scope: research reference, not legal advice. Enforcement summaries describe published regulator decisions; the official notice is the authority.
AGCO monetary penalties against Ontario iGaming operators →What gambling regulators fine operators for →United States: official online gambling sources by state →

Seen a newer notice or ruling?

Regulators publish enforcement decisions every month. Send us the link and we will check it against the source.

Send a correction →